The Full Wiki

More info on Centre Market Place (Manhattan)

Centre Market Place (Manhattan): Map

Advertisements
  

Wikipedia article:

Map showing all locations mentioned on Wikipedia article:





Centre Market Place is a one block long street in downtown Manhattanmarker, New York Citymarker.

The block borders Mulberry Street to the east, Grand Street to the south, Broome Street to the north, and Centre Street to the west. Most locals consider Centre Market Place a part of NoLItamarker, a series of blocks known for cute little stores and fancy living. The street also contains a rich history.

Centre Market Place was originally an extension of Orange Street (now Baxter Street) of old New York before being formally renamed Centre Market Place in April 1837.

The street was home to many famous writers, poets, and artists including the famous crime photographer Weegee who lived in a small studio apartment at 5 Centre Market Pl.

At the southern end of the street, on the corner of Grand St is Onieal's restaurant. The restaurant features a cavernous wine cellar that once served as a speakeasy during Prohibition. Gentlemen of means would walk through the front of the Police Building, perhaps make a contribution to the "widows and orphan fund" and then walk through the cellar corridor connecting the two buildings.

9 Centre Market Pl was once the location to "The People's Bath House", a privately-run public bathhouse built by the Association for Improving the Condition of the Poor. The People's Baths served as a model to which the City of New York would later build the city's truly public bathhouses.

The block also included several gun stores including the famous John Jovino at 5 Centre Market Pl, and the older Frank Lava Gunsmith at 6 Centre Market Pl. The gun stores were part of the gun district owing to its proximity to the police headquartersmarker at 240 Centre St.

A row of townhouses, No. 1, 2, 4, and 5 were rehabilitated by two developers, a husband-and-wife team, incorporating found architectural castoffs scavenged from around the world as part of its facade. The eclectic feel of the buildings adds to the charming allure of the street.

Two small retail stores and a large parking lot anchor the northern end of the block.

References

  1. Post, John J. "Old Streets, Roads, Lanes, Piers and Wharves of New York" 1882.
  2. Stokes, I N Phelps. "The Iconography of Manhattan Island 1498-1909", 1918.
  3. Strausbaugh, John, " Crime Was Weegee's Oyster, June 20, 2008, New York Times."
  4. "Report on Public Baths and Public Comfort Stations", April 9, 1897, The Mayor's Committee of New York City.
  5. Abbott, Berenice "Gunsmith". 1937, photo (web copy at the Museum of the City of New York).
  6. Neuman, William, "Found Treasures From All Over To Adorn Redone Town Houses", September 26, 2004, New York Times.


External links




Embed code:
Advertisements






Got something to say? Make a comment.
Your name
Your email address
Message