The Full Wiki

Nailsworth: Map


Wikipedia article:

Map showing all locations mentioned on Wikipedia article:

Nailsworth is a town in Gloucestershiremarker, Englandmarker, lying in one of the Stroud Valleysmarker in the Cotswoldsmarker. It has a population of around 6,600 people (2005) and lies on the A46 road.

In ancient times it was a settlement at the confluence of the Avening Valleymarker and the Woodchester Valleymarker, on the Nailsworth Stream; among many notable historic buildings of medieval times in the area notable are Beverston Castlemarker and Owlpen Manormarker.

In the modern era Nailsworth was a small mill town and centre for brewing. It was connected directly to the UK national rail network between 1867 and 1947 with a stationmarker that was the terminus of the Stonehouse and Nailsworth Railway.

These days Nailsworth is sleepy and tranquil, visited in the summer by walkers, and holding a Farmers' Market every fourth Saturday in the month. Local events like the market and the Nailsworth Festival are announced by the Town Crier.

Over the past decade the small town centre has been reinvigorated and besides numerous restaurants and cafes now boasts a number of unusual and high-quality shops, you will find two bakers, a delicatessen with a fishmonger, two hardware stores, two butchers, craft shops, bookshops, art galleries and a gardening shop. Nailsworth is a Fairtrade Town. Nailsworth is twinned with the Frenchmarker village of Lèvesmarker and an exchange visit takes place every year alternating between Nailsworth and Lèves.

Forest Green Rovers are the biggest football club playing in Nailsworth and currently play in the Conference National, one level below The Football League.

St. Georges Church

The entrance to St. Georges Church
The church built on the higher ground at the centre of town is St. Georges and dates from 1900.

Christ Church and Tabernacle Church

The Baptist chapel at Shortwood was rebuilt in 1837 and, in spite of the emigration of over 80 members to Adelaide between 1838 and 1840, the adult congregation was at least 1,000 in 1851. In 1864 a dispute over a new minister led to the secession of some members who built their own chapel, opened in 1868, on Bristol Road, known as the Nailsworth Tabernacle church. In 1910 the community rejoined the original Baptist church. In 1967 the Shortwoood congregation united with the Forestgreen Congregationalists to form a new church called Christ Church, Nailsworth. Services alternated for a few years with the Lower Forestgreen chapel but the chapel on Newmarket Road, after modernization, became the permanent place of worship in 1972. In that year Christ Church became a member of the new United Reformed church, although retaining its links with the Baptist Union. It had a membership of 147 in 1973 .

Sport and recreation

Egypt Mill Hotel
Nailsworth has a King George's Field in memorial to King George V.

The local football team, Forest Green Rovers FC play in the Football Conference.

Every Spring, the town hosts the Nailsworth Festival during which local artists exhibit in the windows of all the high street shops, there are numerous cultural and street events, and a free music festival, Nailstock, takes place on one of the playing fields in the town, showcasing local bands.

Notable Nailsworthians


External links

Embed code:

Got something to say? Make a comment.
Your name
Your email address